[print this page]

Talking Beans
April 24, 2003

Northarvest election results

Dry bean growers attending Bean Day elected one new director and re-elected two incumbents to the Northarvest Bean Growers Association board of directors. Jon Ewy, Deer Creek, Minn., is the new member. He represents District 7. (See map for counties in District 7). Ewy and his wife, Jeanne, operate Pine Breeze Farms and raise irrigated dark red kidney beans in rotation with corn, alfalfa and potatoes. (He rents out the land for potato production). They also raise replacement dairy heifers and operate a trucking firm specializing in container shipping. Ewy has served on the Otter Tail Corn and Soybean Growers Association and the Central Minnesota Irrigators Association.

Re-elected directors include: Mark Myrdal, Edinburg, N.D., District 1. He and his wife, Janne; and his brother, Harold; grow pinto beans, small grains, wheat, barley, sunflowers and canola and have a cow-calf operation. Myrdal was first elected to the Northarvest board in 1994. He is a past president of the organization.

Marty Hettervig, Buxton, N.D., District 4. He grows pinto, black and navy beans. He also produces wheat and corn. Hettervig has served on the Northarvest board for six years. Counties In District 1 (North Dakota): Divide, Williams, Burke, Mountrail, Renville, Ward, Bottineau, McHenry, Rolette, Pierce, Towner, Benson, Cavalier, Ramsey, Pembina, and Walsh. Counties in District 4 (North Dakota): Trail.Counties in District 7 (Minnesota): Clay, Wilken, Becker, Otter Tail, Grant, Douglas, Hubbard, Cass, Wadena, Crow Wing, Todd, Morrison, Aitkin, Mille Lacs, Kanabec, Carlton, and Pine.


Other Headlines

Email Newsletter icon, E-mail Newsletter icon, Email List icon, E-mail List icon Sign up for our Email Newsletter
For Email Marketing you can trust


Northarvest Bean Growers Association | 50072 East Lake Seven Road | Frazee, MN 56544
Ph: 218-334-6351 | Fax: 218-334-6360 | Email: